Assessment 3 – ZAA105

Assessment 3 Criteria Sheet: ZAA105 Assignment Sheet 3

Email Activity: ZAA105 Assignment 3 – Email Exercise

Activity A)

Subject Line: International Student Enrolment Submission

Dear University of Cambridge administration office,

I am an international student from Tasmania, Australia preparing to undergo the Bachelor of History Modern Languages an undergraduate course from the Faculty of Modern and Medieval Languages.
I am currently a student at University College of Tasmania undergoing an Associate Degree in Applied Business.

I am aware of the general application process, the languages testing, mock interview and open day at the University of Cambridge. As an international student, how am I to finalise my enrolment before the closing date of Submissions for 2018?

Thank you for your time,

Kind Regards,
Ebony Taylor
Student Number: 986835


Short Statement for Email 1: (108 Words)
I first researched the University of Cambridge website and chose a course that sounded interesting to me, I then continued to click and read through the links provided on the website about this particular course. I made sure to research in depth, so that the administration office of the University of Cambridge could understand clearly what I am implying and that I know what I am wanting to apply for. I asked them a follow-up question to not only make sure they need to reply but for them to understand that I am wanting to study with them. I then thanked them for their time and made sure to type my name and student number for future referencing on their behalf.


Subject Line: International Student Homestay

Dear Smith Family,

My name is Ebony, I am an international student from Tasmania, Australia. I will be studying at the University of Cambridge and staying with you for the duration of 12 months during my studies. I do understand you live in Newtown just outside of Cambridge, however, I am very excited to explore the Cambridge city with you especially visiting the Fitzwilliam Museum and hopefully visit London.

I will be undergoing the Bachelor of History Modern Languages – it is something I have always been interested in as well as studying at the University of Cambridge, I am very excited.

I hope we will be able to contact each other via Skype if you are interested, please feel free to email anytime. I hope to hear back soon.

Kind Regards,
Ebony Taylor


Short Statement for Email 2: (138 Words)
I made an effort to research a suburb just outside of Cambridge (where the University campus is based) and I then researched activities and top activities to do within the suburb on TripAdvisor. I made sure they knew as much information about me staying with them for the 12 months and I also made sure to invite them to further discussion about my stay and myself. I wanted the email to be friendly and inviting yet still professional for myself – so that they would know from the email that I am prepared for what I am doing.


Assertive Statements Activity: ZAA105 Assignment 3 – Assertiveness Exercise

Activity B)

Original Message How will the receiver interpret this message? An alternative assertive message could be:
I can’t believe you are late for work AGAIN! Why can’t you be here on time!! You don’t respect any of us and think we’ll just cover for you – well we won’t! They will take the message to an offence and be prepared to be defensive which will then create an argument. I noticed you were late today, can you please arrive on time next time, thanks.
I bought this phone charger cord here last week and I have the receipt and it doesn’t work and I don’t know what to do but if you can’t do anything its ok That the messenger isn’t sure what they want or they do not care about the situation – the receiver will wonder if the messenger wants the charger fixed or exchanged. I bought this phone charger from here last week and it no longer works, I have the receipt – can I exchange this broken one for a new one.
Why do you always interrupt me when I’m talking? You are so rude always doing that and you’re just thinking about yourself, no-one else They will be offended, especially if this is the first time that the issue has been spoken about. I was offended when you interrupted me, I’m sure you don’t mean for it to come across this way – next time you will be aware.
It’s obvious that you don’t realise how nervous you are when you are making a presentation –don’t you bother to prepare? They will feel self-conscious and feel attacked – it isn’t advice to learn from. I noticed you were nervous. If I can give advice – be calm and take deep breaths, it works for me.
You’re on a date at your local cinema. You’ve arrived early so you and your partner can secure good seats and purchase some choc-tops and popcorn for the movie. Five minutes into the movie, the couple sitting immediately behind you start talking. You leave it a few minutes to see if they will just stop, but unfortunately, they don’t. After five minutes, you decide you have had enough and you turn around to address them. What would you say? Verbal: “sorry to annoy you, I am asking if you could please stop talking during the movie, thank you.”

Non-verbal: full body turned around so I am facing them, sitting, tall posture, open body, smiling and soft tone – almost whispering.

Your car has been at the garage for a long-overdue service. When you go to pick up the car you find that the mechanic has charged you $130 more than the amount you were quoted. You raise this extra amount with the mechanic and they explain that they accidentally made a mistake on the original quote and only charged for three hours of labour instead of five. You’re a student and cannot afford to pay the higher amount until the end of next month and aren’t sure that it’s right to do so anyway. You decide to ask the mechanic to reconsider. What would you say? How would you act? Verbal: “I am a student and I will not be able to pay this amount until a later date – as I was not consulted about this price prior to the service, am I able to pay off this amount at a later date.”

Non-verbal: tall standing posture, open body language (i.e hand expressions) smiling, soft tone yet clear.


Activity C)

“Can you tell me a little bit about yourself and why you have applied for this job”

Youtube Video ZAA105 – Assessment 3 – Activity C)


Activity D)

LinkedIn Profile

linkedin


Activity E)

~ Active Listening ~

Why did you find this area challenging in the past?
Before undergoing this unit and particular module(s) for active listening I never concerned to concentrate on listening to the speaker. During my time in education (in both primary and high school) I had never been taught how to active listen or effectively listen so, therefore, I never learnt this skill. I was not too sure on how to listen effectively and how to pay adequate attention before.
After conversations, I would leave confused as to what the conversation was about – although I may have been there physically, mentally I was not, I was not always giving my full undivided attention. Usually, the speaker would finish the conversation annoyed, I had not listened to them fully.
I would regularly be asking questions based on the conversation because I was never giving my full attention to the speaker.
Before completing this unit and module I did not understand the consequences of not listening and not actively listening.
Doing so will not only strengthen my communication skills but the relationships I am in.
After learning these new skills within the unit and modules I will now continue to utilise them and use them at all times during conversations – ultimately creating better conversations and relationships.

What skills or techniques have you learnt during this course that are changing your approach?
I have learnt how to appropriately active listen and be able to reply back to the conversation. How to appropriately display the correct and most effective body language towards the conversation and the speaker. As well as, how to become a better listener not only for my personal purpose but for the people I live with and those I am around with daily, ultimately maintaining my relationships.
Creating better conversations with those around me, they feel as if they are being heard and listened to rather than the opposite.
I now know what to say and what not to say in replying to the conversation and the speaker. I can now stabilise relationships and help them stay healthy and not negative.
I can now identify other active listeners, and not only have better conversations with them but be able to learn from their techniques too.
I now have the ability to create my own active listening techniques from the active listeners I can identify – strangers or those I know.
I will continue creating my own techniques and building positive relationships with those I meet and know.

Name two (2) things you now do differently as a result of this new knowledge, and why.
1. The ability to ask appropriate follow-up questions of the conversation and use these to allow myself to progress more into the conversation.
With this knowledge, I am then able to create better conversations and allow the speaker to know that I am listening to them and I am engaged and helping create a positive conversation/exchange.
I can now use correct/ appropriate questions in the sense that it allows the speaker to know and understand that I too am involved with the conversation and want to know more.
I can now continue building on poor relationships and build new relationships, using this newly learnt skill.
I no longer use questions towards the speaker to repeat, however, I ask appropriate questions at the appropriate time to allow the conversation to go further.
I will continue using this skill as it has helped my relationships and continues to help daily in simple conversations in person with either one of my sisters or a conversation between myself and a friend online.

2. The ability to paraphrase the conversation and what the speaker is saying to create a more positive conversation experience.
I feel better personally knowing that the speaker is having a positive experience within the conversation.
I allow the speaker to know that I am listening – as I am paraphrasing what they are saying. They now know that I am listening to them and that I care about the conversation.
Learning this skill has helped my relationships grow more positive and create better relationships – those I know personally can see that I am making an effort.
Paraphrasing has helped better my conversations and ultimately make them a positive experience rather than negative.
I will continue to use this technique as I enjoy conversations and those speaking to me do too. I will continue paraphrasing key statements in conversations as well as take notice and initiative of what other active listeners do to paraphrase ‘successfully’.

Are there any other areas that you would like to develop your skills in?
Developing assertive statements and have the ability to say exactly what I want in a positive manner. Develop better constructive feedback, entering a new workplace and working within a more professional workplace environment I will need to develop these skills further to create a more positive environment and allow the person I am giving the feedback too, to understand the message.
I would like to have the ability to use assertive statements and constructive feedback in a positive sense and not negative – this will help the relationships I am in, as well as the person I am communicating to, to not only learn from what I am saying but to not feel offended.
I will work on using assertive statements and constructive feedback positively, it will benefit both parties within the conversation as one is leading it in a positive sense and the other is learning in a positive sense.
Previously in situations, I could not give constructive feedback positively in working environments (I had obtained a senior role at my previous workplace) working with younger employees they were expecting feedback to make their working experience encouraging – however, I could not deliver correct constructive feedback to them. I also did not have the knowledge on assertive statements and I was not familiar with how to produce them.
Undergoing this unit and the modules I have learnt correct constructive feedback techniques, as well as assertive statement techniques and I, will continue to learn and use these.
I will continue learning how to better my skills on assertive statements and correct constructive feedback – I will also pay attention to those around me to help better those skills.

Leave a Reply

